"Europejski Fundusz Rolny na rzecz Rozwoju Obszarów Wiejskich: Europa inwestująca w obszary wiejskie."

Ruins of the 14th century church in Steblewo

From the historical records one can read that Steblewo is a 14th century village closely connected with the medieval trade route from Gdansk to Elblag, which was first mentioned in 1305 as a donation of the Polish King Wenceslas II to the Teutonic Order. Currently, the town is famous for the church ruins from the 14th to 15th century. From the second half of the 16th to 1945 the church was an Evangelical church with the patronage of the city of Gdansk. Partly destroyed by the Swedes in the first half of the 17th century, it was rebuilt with the money of the people of Gdańsk. For the following centuries, due to the legend of the pastoralist - herbalist accused of witchcraft and charming form and surroundings, it was a frequent subject of painting and postcards. In 1945 it was burnt down by the Red Army during the fighting or after the front passes. The outer walls and part of the massive front tower have been preserved. Around the church there are remains of a historic graveyard with tombstones from the 18th and 19th century and a nearby 1854 grave chapel with the tomb of the Wessel family, currently serving as a lapidarium. The building is located in the community of Suchy Dąb.


Arrow left
Arrow right